Mrs. Lisa Jo Curry
EL Teacher, DeSoto Central Primary
Staff
662.912.1300 

I'm available every day for you, even over the summer.  You can email me, send me a text through SchoolStatus, or I can set up an online meeting with you through Zoom.  Please stay in touch!

 

 

Your job this summer is to get started in a program called i-Ready.  If you need help logging in or need further assignments, please contact me to help.

To log in to i-Ready, go to: https:login.i-ready.com/

Username: student's first initial, last initial, and MSIS number (without two leading zeroes)

Password: MSIS number (without two leading zeroes)

About the Teacher

Education: 

 - Santa Barbara Community College, San Diego State University and University of Mississppi

Experience:

 - Taught 7th Grade English and Math at Olive Branch Middle School for 8 years

 - Have been teaching K-12 EL for 12 years at many schools in DeSoto County

 - Have been tutoring all subjects K-12 for the past 7 years

 

Bio:

 - Have lived in several different regions of the US and in Puerto Rico

 - Love to play and referee sand volleyball, tend my Alice in Wonderland garden, cook and bake for friends and family, and listen to podcasts

 - Tutor in nearly every subject, K-12 and ACT/SAT prep

 - Plan to travel the world to see where all of my students and their families have lived

 

As a life-long learner, I gave myself some homework for the summer!  I've been studying Spanish almost my whole life, but I finally started learning Arabic using Rosetta Stone and www.duolingo.com. I'd love to have any and all of my students and their parents follow me and begin their own journey in English or in another language.  I'm up to over 5500 words in Spanish and just over 1250 words in Arabic!  It really makes me respect how hard it is to learn a language with a completely different alphabet, and I will continue to admire the many families with more than one language in the home.

Reading 

ABC YA – www.abcya.com  

ABC Mouse – www.abcmouse.com free with access code SCHOOL7771 

Into the Book – www.reading.ecb.org  

PBS Kids – www.pbs.org 

Star Fall – www.starfall.com 

Storyline Online – www.storylineonline.net  

Funbrain – www.funbrain.com  

Suessville – www.suessville.com  

Squiggle Park – www.squigglepark.com  

 

Math 

ABCYA – www.abcya.com  

Funbrain – www.funbrain.com  

Prodigy – www.prodigygame.com    

Math Playground – www.mathplayground.com  

Splash Learn – www.splashlearn.com  

Math Game Time – www.mathgametime.com   

Khan Academy – www.khanacademy.org  

This website from the MS Department of Education offers a variety of activities that families can use at home to build great reading skills. Click on the picture below to get there!

sr=sl

Science  

Discovery Mindblown – www.discoverymindblown.com  

NASA Kids Club – www.nasa.gov  

Amazing Space  www.nasa.gov   

Code Academy  www.codeacademy.com  

Nat Geo Kids – www.kids.nationalgeographic.com  

Switcheroo Zoo – www.switcheroozoo.com 

Mystery Doug – www.mysterydoug.com    

 

Social Studies  

Nat Geo Kids – www.kids.nationalgeographic.com  

Time for Kids – www.timeforkids.com  

Smithsonian for Kids – www.si.edu   

History for Kids – www.historyforkids.net  

 

Writing 

Typing Club – www.typingclub.com  

Brain Pop – www.brainpop.com  

Duolingo  www.duolingo.com  

Hello Kids (drawing)  www.hellokids.com  

Highlights Kids – www.highlightskids.com

 

 

Most of our students will recognize   DCS Lab Links to easily connect them to other websites.  Let them have some fun exploring and learning on their own! 

 

Because I love podcasts, I decided to also share some of my favorites that should be good for kids.  Enjoy!

 

Radio Lab for Kids

Brains On!

But Why! A Podcast for Curious Kids

Smash, Boom, Best

KidNuZ

Be Calm on Ahway Island

Wow in the World

Tumble

 

Free Lunches